The Origins of Sun Prairie

The Town of Sun Prairie was first organized as a town in the spring of 1848, with A. W. Dickenson Town Clerk. Its name was derived from the following circumstances: In the spring of 1836, Hon. A.A. Bird and party left Milwaukee to locate the Capital of the Territory of Wisconsin. It was a rainy, cloudy time, and on the morning of the eleventh day of their journey, while on the prairie, two miles east of the present village of Sun Prairie, the fog cleared away and the sun appeared for the first time since they had left Milwaukee. The party shouted, with one accord, “Sun Prairie”!

Meeting and Other Notices

Meeting notices, ordinance adoptions and other information are posted on three town bulletin boards. The bulletin boards are located in the driveway of Homburg Farms between 4161 and 4167 CTH TT, at the Town Hall, and on Lonely Lane near Hwy N. Meeting notices are also officially posted on this website.

2016 Fall Election Information

Early Voting Hours are Monday through Thursday, 9 am to 2 pm until November 3rd.  The office will also be open 12 pm to 7 pm, November 4th (Friday).  A sample ballot is located in the Notices tab in the right side of this page.  The official date for the November Election is November 8, 2016.  Voting hours are 7 am – 8 pm, and polling location is the Sun Prairie Town Hall, 5556 Twin Lane Road, Marshall, WI  53559.

**Please note, the sample ballot and referendum is for residents of the School District of Sun Prairie.  Residents of the MARSHALL AND MONONA GROVE SCHOOL DISTRICTS will have the same ballot, but there is NO REFERENDUM.**